A New Year, A New Calendar

What better way to start an exciting new year than an inspirational new calendar?  There are lots of places where you can shop for a new calendar, whether you are hoping for some cute animals, scenic views or lovely flowers.  However, why not make this year more special and get a personalized calendar?

I made 2 wall calendars this year using Shutterfly, which I really enjoyed because I was able to combine my photography with inspiring phrases.  They have a variety of themes to choose from.  Since I wanted my photography to stand out, I chose a very subdued background of classic textures.  The first calendar focused on “Simple Moments of Beauty” showcasing photos of everyday objects captured in enticing lighting.  The second calendar was called “Coastal Memories” capturing gorgeous photos of Big Sur along with inspirational phrases for each month.

Here are some of my favorite phrases:

  1. Caress each curve on Mother Earth’s body and watch it glisten in the sun
  2. Love may be covered in fog, but take a moment to witness this mystic beauty
  3. Don’t be afraid to change, as there’s so much beauty and color in transition
  4. Take a step back and watch how life sparkles and shines, full of energy and magic
  5. Ever changing, forever flowing, always living, the essence of life
  6. There is beauty in your own reflection

Another fun thing about making calendars on Shutterfly is that you can insert your personal dates and images onto the calendar to mark the birthday of friends, anniversaries or any other special event.  It’ll make a perfect gift.

Here are some images from my calendar that I just hung on my wall as of today (since I was away from home yesterday) 🙂  I hope you enjoy my work and that it inspires you.  Since I’m really interested in inspirational photography and poetry, my calendars are more scenic.  However, you can also choose to showcase personal photos of family and friends.  There are plenty of options if you decide to create a calendar on Shutterfly.  I invite you to browse around.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you are a professional photographer or designer and would like to attempt to sell your work for a small royalty.  You can consider Zazzle.  You design the calendar with your own images (photographs, artwork, design-work), choose the default style and set your price (anything above the base production cost goes into your pocket).  Anyone purchasing the product will then get to customize the product further by changing the size or calendar style and inputting their own images and text on top of your design.  Zazzle is a growing community for product creators.  It does not have all the background options provided by Shutterfly or the inserted calendar dates, but is still a fun and possibly profitable way to create and/or showcase your work.

Don’t feel inspired yet?  Well, you can browse Zazzle and see if there’s something you like, or browse some local stores for cool designs – Target, Walgreens, Safeway, Walmart, Barnes and Nobles, Michael’s, or wherever your heart and feet take you. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Calendar

  1. There are some attention-grabbing cut-off dates on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

  2. What i do not understood is actually how you are not actually much more well-liked than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You realize thus considerably relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it is one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always maintain it up!

Leave a Reply

