Discovering Fleece

In honor of this month’s Inspirational Circle, I have written a poem inspired by “texture.” I hope you enjoy this simple, elegant piece. 🙂

Discovering Fleece

Soft and warm like fur,
I wrap my blanket around me
like a Tootsie roll.
It falls on the bed with
the softest sound,
light as a feature.

I stroke the blanket
from edge to edge,
feeling the little bumps
and waves that go in and out,
so subtle and so soothing,
like stroking the back
of my loved one’s neck
and feeling the blood vessel,
feeling the pulse.

It’s like running
my hands through pebbles
of sand, feeling rhythmic dots,
swirling and soothing
against my fingertips,
my very own
zen garden.

I wrap the blanket
around my arms,
around my legs
and imagine a puppy
beside me
with fur so soft.

As the fleece brushes my
cheeks, I feel content
and dreamy,
mesmerized
by the softness
that engulfs me
as I fall asleep
on fleece clouds,
drifting away
into Utopia.

Leave a Reply

